Who are we?

Icon Water Limited is an unlisted public company with assets and investments in water, sewerage and energy services and operations. Icon Water is owned by the ACT Government. The company’s voting shareholders are the Chief Minister and the Minister for the Environment and Heritage of the ACT. Icon Water has corporate reporting and compliance obligations under Corporations Law. Legislation governing the supply of water and sewerage services includes the Utilities Act 2000, Water Resources Act 2007, Environment Protection Act 1997, Water and Sewerage Act 2000 and the Public Health Act 1997.

Icon Water owns and manages the water and sewerage business and assets in the ACT and is a 50% owner of ActewAGL, a joint venture with AGL Energy Limited and Jemena Limited.

Icon Water has two wholly owned subsidiary companies: Icon Retail Investments Limited and Icon Distribution Investments Limited, which are Icon Water's partnership companies in ActewAGL.


Download the factsheet on the simple differences between your utilities.



Icon Water's functions were originally performed within the Commonwealth Public Service. In 1962 the Australian Capital Territory Electricity Authority (ACTEA) was formed. In 1988 the Australian Capital Territory Electricity and Water Authority (ACTEWA) was established. ACTEWA was abolished in 1995 and ACTEW Corporation Limited (now Icon Water Limited) was established under the Corporations Law on 1 July 1995.

On 1 July 2012, ACTEW Water (now Icon Water Limited) resumed management, operations and maintenance of our water and sewerage assets and business. This was previously undertaken by ActewAGL on behalf of Icon Water.